VA – Jutsu LP
VA – Jutsu LP (Front Cover)
STREET DATE:October 16, 2017
ARTISTS: Various Artists  
Mean Teeth  
Zero T  


01. Mayhem & Logam – All I Do (Gridlok Remix VIP) [4:16]
02. Mayhem & Logam – Centuria (Amoss Remix) [4:51]
03. Mean Teeth – Leviathan (A-Cray Remix) [3:20]
04. Logam – Hypnotic (Quadrant & Iris Remix) [5:37]
05. Mayhem & Logam – Infinity (Nickbee Remix) [4:57]
06. Mayhem & Logam – Ouroboros (Jade Remix) [5:40]
07. Des McMahon – The Hawk (Mean Teeth Remix) [5:06]
08. Hajimari – Analgesic (Zero T Remix) [4:49]
09. Mayhem & Logam – Orion (Myselor Remix) [5:23]
10. Des McMahon – Delirium (Logam Remix) [4:24]

For five years, Santoku has remained a pinnacle within the world of US drum & bass. They’ve delivered various packages of fresh sonic transatlantic, helping to push the genre on not just American soil, but also across the full global market. And this year marks their 5th anniversary, with three releases to celebrate half a decade committed to giving platforms to both newcomers and more refined talent throughout the 174bpm sound spectrum.

Their next LP will be the first stepping stone towards this five-year commemoration, with its namesake hinting at the full albums content. ‘Jutsu’ continues the theme of Santoku, translated from Japanese into ‘technique’ – alluding to the fact that the entire album is comprised of remixes. Included on the LP are previously released tracks which have become a definitive part of the Santoku discography, as well as four brand new reworks from the likes of Gridlok, Myselor, A-Cray and Logam.

Gridlok needs little introduction, and neither does his groove-ridden retake on Mayhem and label head Logam’s ‘All I Do’. It sets a standard for the rest to follow, including the cutting percussion of Amoss’ remix of Mayhem & Logam’s ‘Centuria’ and the punching bass of A-Cray’s ‘Leviathan’ switch up. The mesmerising tribalism of Quadrant & Iris brought into Logam’s ‘Hypnotic’ acts as a release stand out, alongside Nickbee tackling Mayhem & Logam’s ‘Infinity’ with his longstanding, high quality production engineering. Then comes Eatbrain head honcho Jade’s remix of Logam & Mayhem’s ‘Ourboros’, paying homage to its forbearer but also implementing the chaotic atmospherics and crushing mechanics which makes Jade so infamous. Emerging icon Des McMahon’s track ‘The Hawk’ is given a treatment by Mean Teeth, adding another biting dimension to the original. Logam also adds his twist on McMahon’s style, bringing ‘Delirium’ into unfamiliar territories. And finally, Zero T has his minimalistic yet meticulously fashioned features brought into Hajimari’s ‘Analgesic’ and Myselor delivers Mayhem & Logam’s ‘Orion’ through his lens.

Together they encapsulate the five years Santoku has spent dedicating to their artist’s craftsmanship. And it’s a monumental release, one which sets them up to reach a decade of releases – especially whilst dropping music of this calibre.

Currently there are no comments related to this article. You have a special honor to be the first commenter. Thanks!

Leave a Reply.

* Your email address will not be published.