Trex – High Time LP
Trex – High Time LP (Front Cover)
LABEL:Mac II Recordings
STREET DATE:August 31, 2018


01. Trex – High Time [03:37]
02. Trex – One & All [05:55]
03. Trex – Real World [05:33]
04. Trex – What I Say (feat Fox) [05:37]
05. Trex – Up In The Air [05:14]
06. Trex – Try [05:26]
07. Trex – Thinking About Ya (feat Nina Provencal) [03:08]
08. Trex – Father [05:38]
09. Trex – You'll Never Be (feat Paul T & Ella Jones) [06:28]
10. Trex – Hellfire (feat Doc Brown) [04:24]
11. Trex – Dirty Greens [05:12]
12. Trex & Jaybee – Untitled Dub [05:53]
13. Trex – Stowaway [05:33]

The colossal thirteen track LP forthcoming from Trex on Mac II Recordings highlights why the label has been running the game for decades. Built thrugh the combined power of DJ Randall and Coolhand Flex, the imprint has risen from strength to strength since its inception, pushing forward with the kind of taste-making sounds which paved the drum & bass world up from the ground. Trex’s album presents the same standard of music writing, with the producer having already made his impact felt on labels such as Chronic, Lockdown, Trust Audio, Hocus Pocus, Ingredients, Flexout Audio and Run Dnb. The self described ‘drum & bass fanatic’ and long time resident of Camden has also received support from the most recovered figures in the game; whether that’s Noisia, DJ Marky or Andy C, so it comes as no surprise that he’d be introduced to the Mac II roster for such a prestigious project.

From the dubby underpinnings of ‘High Time’, right through to the techy relays of ‘Stowaway’, there’s a flavour for everyone across its intimidating track list. The percussive thralls of ‘One & All’ rolls into the crashing breaks of ‘Real World’, whilst Fox jumps on board alongside the flowing melodies of ‘What I Say’. The rattling sonics of ‘Try’ and vocal overtures of Nina Provencal on ‘Thinking of Ya’ only add to the diversity demonstrated throughout. Tracks like ‘Father’ also provide this versatility, whilst ‘You’ll Never Be’ with Paul T and Ella Jones add to the weighty collaborations Trex offers up. Doc Brown then joins Trex for ‘Hellfire’, a driving rhythm with its gyrating drum sequences. ‘Dirty Green’ then switches the gear up another notch with a more biting edge, alongside ‘Untitled Dub’ with Jaybee. As ‘Stowaway’ draws the LP to a close, alongside old-school, snapping percussion and a prodding bassline, you’re left to fully bask in Trex’s production might. Although having fallen under the guise of Randall and Coolhand Flex, the standards were already set. Trex has continued the legacy of Mac II which points to why he was so coveted by the biggest names in drum & bass.

Juno Exclusive: Aug 24th, 2018
Worldwide Release: Aug 31st, 2018

Currently there are no comments related to this article. You have a special honor to be the first commenter. Thanks!

Leave a Reply.

* Your email address will not be published.