VA – Polychrome Vol. 1
VA – Polychrome Vol. 1 (Front Cover)
LABEL:Hyperactivity Music
STREET DATE:February 16, 2018
ARTISTS: Various Artists  
Zero T  


1. Thing Changes Gunston 5:53
2. Thing Changes (Zero T Remix) Gunston 5:14
3. Pressure Funk Phonograph 5:00
4. Revolutionary EiZO 5:11
5. You & Me SBZ 4:33
6. WARD Midn8Runner 4:55
7. Emergency Vici 4:16
8. Unnoticed Kuantum 5:52

1 Year Of Hyperactivity Music

Hyperactivity music is a record label based out of Marseille and their commitment to a cutting edge approach to releasing records can be seen throughout their roster. Never a label to dilute their sound, they’ve paved the way for many producers who persist in pushing their music against the more mainstream appeal of bigger imprints. And forthcoming from Hyperactivity is an eight track EP which provides a space for their slickest beats to date, showcasing brand new tracks from artists both old and new. Whether it’s the sultry sonics of Zero T, or EiZO’s expert minimalism, Hyperactivity caters to a range of tastes and these are explored throughout ‘Polychrome’.

Beginning ‘Polychrome’ is Gunston’s separate offering ‘Thing Changes’, which delicately opens the release with tinkering percussive elements and shivering hi-hats. It’s the perfect way to introduce you to Zero T’s remix, which has already been causing damage in an array of sets and completely twists the face of its original. ‘Pressure Funk’ from Ponograph delivers another blow of refined engineering, one which moves itself through the track delicately and drives a funky spine through the record’s core. Following on is EiZO’s ‘Revolutionary’, which slices through with the quick-fire production style which is subdued but still makes an enormous impact when it hits the subs. ‘You and Me’ from SBZ differs with its liquid breakdown and clattering bassline. ‘WARD’ from Midn8Runner adds together a carefully fashioned mixdown of elegant craftsmanship and scuttling beats, driving home Hyperactivity’s ethos on musicality. And Vici’s ‘Emergency’ slices across the track listing with a darker vibe, drawing itself out with shaking undertones and levels of bass which continuously fluctuate. Then finally’ Kuantum steps forward with ‘Unnoticed’, again with a layering which is eerily subtle but with a structuring that pays homage to Kuantum’s masterful mechanics.

As a package, it accentuates the pride Hyperactivity takes in providing a home for many burgeoning producers. With the help of artists like Gunston, Zero T, Phonograph, EiZO, SBZ, Midn8Runner, Vici and Kuantum, they’ll keep pushing the bar within their underground section. ‘Ponograph’ is just the beginning and it’s a continuation of their growing reach.

Currently there are no comments related to this article. You have a special honor to be the first commenter. Thanks!

Leave a Reply.

* Your email address will not be published.